Supporting health through research and education.


From the Board of Directors

Photo of 2011 MMSF Board.

2011 MMSF Board
Back Row; Mr. Aidan O'Brien, Dr. Gerald Minuk, Dr. R. Daniel Gietz, Mr. Neil Fast,
Dr. Greg Hammond (Executive Director & Treasurer), Dr. Peter Cattini (Secretary),
Dr. Grant Pierce, Mr. Andrew Yorke (MMSF Director and MBC President & CEO),
Hon. W. Scott Wright, Mr. Mark Gray, Dr. Brian Postl, Dr. William Christie,
Ms. Tannis Novotny (Executive Administration)
Middle Row; Mr. Kerry Bittner (Member-at-Large), Mr. Shaun Lamoureux (MBC, VP & CFO),
Dr. Susan McClement, Dr. Christine Peschken, Dr. Lindsay Du Val (Vice-Chair of the Board),
Dr. John Wade (Assistant Executive Director), Dr. Estelle Simons, Mr. Gordon Webster
Front Row; Ms. Linda Newton, Mr. Allen Rouse (Chair of the Board),
Ms. Patricia McCallum (Member-at-Large), Mrs. Isabel Auld
Missing; Dr. Nicholas Anthonisen, Dr. Patrick Choy, Dr. Kent HayGlass,
Mr. Gordon Holland, Dr. Allan Ronald, Dr. Robert Walker, Mr. Jerry Kruk (Citizen-at-large)

In 2014 we find that our funding is reduced vs 2013, while at the same time there remains a high need for research and education funding, with the budget being set at $527,415 for 2014. We have preserved the Grant Stabilization Fund at or above $300,000 so that our reserves can be maintained at a reasonable level. We have continued our policy of allowing only one-year grants without repeats. Twenty-four (24) grant applications were received for the 2014 Competition. We were able to award funding for 58% of the applications from the 2014 Competition for Funds, split between fourteen (14) grants.

We continue to collaborate with other granting agencies, where in exchange for offering grant review services, we were grateful to share the funding of three grants. This is made possible through co-operation with the Children's Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba (CHRIM) and The Winnipeg Foundation (WF). We continue to collaborate to find ways to co-fund with other granting agencies.

In reviewing grants, we utilize a unique marking system which emphasizes new young investigators. This marking system is included in our Guidelines and Criteria for Applications for Research Funds, contained in the application form available on this website. As usual, a wide variety of topics were covered in research applications.

A history of MMSF was undertaken with writer, Mr. David Square, under the editorship of Dr. James Haworth. It is available in print and inquiries may be made to the MMSF Administrative Assistant. You can also view this edition on our About Us page.

Dr. Greg Hammond and Dr. John Wade continue as Executive Director and Assistant Executive Director. We thank all members of the Board for excellent service especially Chair, Dr. Lindsay Du Val and Vice–Chair, Dr. Peter Cattini.

From the President of Manitoba Blue Cross

Photo of Andrew Yorke

Andrew Yorke

The Manitoba Medical Service Foundation is unique in that it helps fund first–time researchers.

Like Manitoba Blue Cross, these people dedicate themselves to improving the health and wellness of Manitobans. Their enthusiasm and commitment epitomize the meaning of The Colour of Caring, making us a proud supporter of their initiatives.

Mr. Andrew Yorke
President & CEO
Manitoba Blue Cross

Proudly sponsored by

Manitoba Blue Cross logo

Continue reading the next page: Partnerships

Photo of mmsf book

MMSF, 35 Years of Promoting Health Care Research in Manitoba